Ethic Advertising Questions:
Ethic Advertising is located at 600 Iron City Dr, Suite 200, Pittsburgh, PA 15205. Ethic Advertising is located inside of the Greentree SportsPlex.
Yes, Ethic Advertising has clients all across America. Our media buying and planning services are available throughout the entire U.S., and our creative services are available worldwide.
This question pops up a lot, and it has a two part answer. Part one is that an advertising agency is supposed to be a fountain of creativity, but most ad agencies are named after their founders. Our innovation starts with our name.
The second half of the answer is simple. Like any industry, not every advertising agency operates ethically and holds their clients needs in higher regards than greed and self preservation. Ethic Advertising is about doing business above the board, producing a higher quality service, and upholding a moral responsibility to all that we work with. Also, if we have the word “ethic” in our name it’ll enforce that brand and culture. It keeps us honest with a clear cut identity.
An ad agency streamlines the entire advertising process, which not only gets you better results, but ultimately saves you time and money.
You can have shorter, more detailed conversations with just one small group of people about your entire advertising campaign, instead of multiple representatives from different TV stations, radio stations, outdoor vendors, newspapers, etc.
Not to say that a conversation with a rep is a bad thing by any means…our founder was a TV rep for years! But, you can spend hours and days meeting with all the individual vendors to piece together an advertising plan.
We don’t let pride get in our way. We’re experienced enough to know when we’re getting a good rate and we’ll always work to get you the best one.
We know a lot about the media. Our expertise in knowing the difference between media gross rating points, reach, frequency, target cost-per-points, and cost per thousand, allows us to make hard negotiations on our clients’ behalf.
There’s never a disincentive to save you money. Some people think that an agency's commission on clients’ media spend disincentives the agency to negotiate better media rates. That may be the case at some agencies, but not at Ethic Advertising. We believe that doing right by the client will keep them around longer, thus making even more money for the agency in the long-run. We will always negotiate the best rate possible for our clients.
Ethic Advertising specializes in complete and comprehensive media planning and buying services provided at a 15%-20% agency commission on overall media budget; this number is an industry standard.
But, what are you paying for? And, why not do it yourself?
You tell us your businesses goals, and we'll develop an advertising plan that will help make them happen. We have experience working in every advertising medium on a local, regional, and national level, including TV, radio, outdoor, digital, transit, and more. We don't believe in spending advertising dollars; we believe in investing them. Your investment will go toward:
- Planning, development, and research
- Media placement
- Expert negotiating and buying power
- Continuous campaign maintenance and management
- Monthly campaign review, invoice cross checking, and analysis
- Tracking, data, and analytics including recommendations and trends
- Itemized invoicing and vendor payment services
We provide frequently asked advertising questions because education is a large part of what we do everyday at Ethic Advertising and we love it. Not only do we get to educate ourselves by learning about our clients and our industry, but we feel compelled to provide education to others through the Frequently Asked Advertising Questions page, social media, educational videos, public speaking, class room lectures, the 9 Reasons Why Advertising Doesn't Work e-book, and offering free one-on-ones with any business.
Media Buying/Planning Questions:
Nieslen is the most used advertising research company in the county, and Nieslen rating points are not only used to measure how many people are listening to or watching a program, but they are a significant tool in determining cost and value of a specific program.
A Nieslen rating point is the percentage of a specific population that is listening or watching a program. For example, if you have 100,000 women between the ages of 25 and 54, and 1,500 of them watched the evening news, you have a rating point of 1.5 for that news broadcast.
Cash is king, and having a healthy advertising budget will result in more exposure, traffic, and revenue, but there are opportunities to advertise that cost absolutely nothing upfront. However, before you start spending advertising dollars you should first build a budget based on your current revenue, projected revenue, and business goals. Whether you have an advertising budget in hundreds or in the millions, proper advertising budget planning is a critical step to ensure fewer mistakes, prevent over/understanding, and improving your advertising success.
The Cost Per Thousand refers to the amount of money it takes to reach 1,000 members of a specific demographic. For example, if you soend $1,000 to reach 10,000 individuals between the ages of 25 and 54, it will cost you $100 for every 1,000 you reach.
A Cost Per Thousand (CPM) is a tool that will allow you to compare different advertising opportunities on the same playing field no matter if they are in the same advertising medium or in different ones. For example, you may have two TV campaigns that both cost $10,000, but you get 250 :30s commercial spots with one and only 100 with the other. It might look like the one with 250 commercial spots is the better deal. This isn’t always the case because the campaign with 250 commercials might only reach 100,000 members of your target demographic for a CPM of $100 where the 100 commercial campaign might reach 150,000 for a CPM of $66.70 (Note: As previously mentioned, CPM is a tool and should not be the only factor in making a decision.)
RGB and CMYK are the two most common color models used in graphic design work. RGB stands for red, green, and blue. This color model is used mainly for images that will be utilized on a screen such as a computer, phone, television, digital billboard, etc. RGB is referred to as an additive model, which means colors are added together on a pixel level to make up an image on a screen. When light is projected through the image, the colors blend on the eye’s retina to produce different colors.
CMYK stands for cyan, magenta, yellow, and black and is a subtractive model. This is primarily used when an image is going to be printed in any form. A subtractive model, like CMYK, is when colors from the spectrum are subtracted from natural white light into dyes or pigments that are printed on paper in very small cyan, magenta, yellow, and black dots.
In short, RGB is for creative that goes on the screen and CMYK is for creative that will be printed.
Search Engine Marketing (SEM) is when you pay to show up in search engine results on a pay per click basis. A great example of this is Google AdWords.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO) is when you organically show up on search engine results. AKA: Google thinks that your website is the best one to show to a person based on what someone typed into the search box, your website;s content, and many other factors in Google’s algorithms. Theoretically, SEO is free, but with such a competitive and ever changing landscape, you often need a SEO expert’s help to get your site to its highest level of efficiency (first page of search engine results).